Awoooooooo! Get ready for some pure delight in this episode of the Read-Aloud Revival podcast. We’re joined by the wonderful and witty author of the spunky and endearing Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series.

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • where the idea of a governess caring for children raised by wolves came from (it turns out it’s a bit of Jane Eyre and a dash of The Jungle Book!)
  • how she plots her mysterious storylines
  • and Maryrose even reads (and howls) a bit!

This episode is not to be missed, and if you haven’t yet read the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series with your kids, you’re going to want to go grab the first by the end of the episode.

 Click the play button below:

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 59
Charlotte’s Web

Charlotte’s Web

By the wonderful E.B. White, a touching tale of friendship, character and love, with charming illustrations by Garth Williams. Your kids will hang on every word—there's a reason this book is a classic! (psst... get out the kleenex)

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Hobbit

The Hobbit

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

The prelude to the Lord of the Rings, Bilbo sets out on a great adventure. Lots of suspense and humor … There’s a beautifully illustrated version available that can make this book a little easier to share with families with a large age gap.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet)

A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet)

FROM SARAH:

Meg and her brother Charles are viewed as unintelligent, especially compared to their brilliant parents, one of whom has disappeared. Did he really leave their family, or was it perhaps a wrinkle in time? The 1963 Newberry Award winner. Get our free reading guide to go with it.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Essential Calvin and Hobbes: a Calvin and Hobbes Treasury

The Essential Calvin and Hobbes: a Calvin and Hobbes Treasury

$18.99

Calvin has a best friend -- a stuffed? tiger named Hobbes, and a BIG imagination. Follow the pair’s adventures in these beloved comics.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Curious George Complete Adventures: 70th Anniversary Edition

Curious George Complete Adventures: 70th Anniversary Edition

**Description from Amazon: “This is George. He lived in Africa. He was a good little monkey, and always very curious.” With these words, H. A. and Margret Rey introduced the world to Curious George in 1941, and the world has loved him ever since. The tales of this cheerful and resilient little hero have kept generations o...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Wonder

Wonder

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. White

Some Writer!: The Story of E. B. White

$18.99

**Description from Amazon: “SOME PIG,” Charlotte the spider’s praise for Wilbur, is just one fondly remembered snippet from E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. In Some Writer!, the two-time Caldecott Honor winner Melissa Sweet mixes White’s personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Black Beauty

Black Beauty

Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 59
Tag: Episode 59

**Description from Amazon: A majestic horse endures mistreatment and neglect before being reunited with his friends.

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
The Golden Treasury of Children’s Literature
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I: The Mysterious Howling

FROM SARAH:

The first in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series will surprise and delight you at every turn. You see, the children of Ashton Place aren't ordinary children. They were found in the forest, and it appears they have been raised by wolves...

The audio book is absolutely exquisite.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

More info →
Buy from Audible.com
Buy from Libro.fm
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book II: The Hidden Gallery

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book II: The Hidden Gallery

$6.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 59, Book 2
Tag: Episode 59

**Description from Amazon: The second book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicker and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.Thanks to their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, Alexander, Beowulf, and Cass...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book III: The Unseen Guest

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book III: The Unseen Guest

$6.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 59, Book 3
Tag: Episode 59

**Description from Amazon: The third book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.Since returning from London, the three Incorrigible children and their plucky governe...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV: The Interrupted Tale

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV: The Interrupted Tale

$6.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 59, Book 4
Tag: Episode 59

**Description from Amazon: The fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.Turning sixteen is a bittersweet occasion for Miss Penelope Lumley. Luckily, an invi...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V: The Unmapped Sea

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book V: The Unmapped Sea

$7.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 59, Book 5
Tag: Episode 59

**Description from Amazon: For fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society, here comes the fifth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.Lord Fredrick Ashton may not feel ready to be...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Black Stallion

The Black Stallion

Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 59, Book 1
Tag: Episode 59

**Description from Amazon: First published in 1941, Walter Farley's best-selling novel for young readers is the triumphant tale of a boy and a wild horse. From Alec Ramsay and the Black's first meeting on an ill-fated ship to their adventures on a desert island and their eventual rescue, this beloved story will hold the rapt ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
My Friend Flicka

My Friend Flicka

$6.99
Author:
Series: Episodes, Episode 59
Tag: Episode 59

**Description from Amazon: The first time that ken McLaughlin sees Flicka galloping past him on his family's Wyoming horse ranch, he knows she's the yearling he's been longing for. But Flicka comes from a long line of wild horses, and taming her will take more than Ken could ever have imagined. Soon, Ken is faced with an impo...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Phantom Tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth

**Description from Amazon: With almost 4 million copies sold over 50 years after its original publication, generations of readers have now journeyed with Milo to the Lands Beyond in this beloved classic that Philip Pullman says “comes up bright and new every time I read it . . . it will continue to charm and delight for a v...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
The Jungle Book

The Jungle Book

**Description from Amazon: Now a major motion picture starring Bill Murray, Scarlett Johansson, and Idris Elba: The amazing adventures of a boy named Mowgli and his brave animal friendsThe fourteen fables in this landmark of children’s literature tell the story of Mowgli, a boy raised by wolves in the Indian jungle. With th...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Jane Eyre (Penguin Classics)

Jane Eyre (Penguin Classics)

Charlotte Brontë's moving masterpiece – the novel that has been "teaching true strength of character for generations" (The Guardian)A novel of intense power and intrigue, Jane Eyre has dazzled generations of readers with its depiction of a woman's quest for freedom. Having grown up an orphan...

More info →
Buy from Amazon

135,000+ families trust the RAR Booklist

get yours free

Powered by ConvertKit