Heidi Scovel admits that she isn’t a read-aloud superstar. Reading aloud can be hard to fit in when you’re a busy mother of four! But she does know how to choose great books and has had a lot of success starting a book club for her kids called the Book Detectives.

In this episode, you’ll hear:

  • her kids’ favorite books
  • how she developed her taste for the best literature
  • and the ins and outs of her successful Book Detectives group

You’re going to love her. :)

More free resources and booklists

Get the best episodes and reources
from the Read-Aloud Revival

Powered by ConvertKit

Books from this episode:

(All links are Amazon affiliate links.)

Episode 10
On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness

FROM SARAH:

For fans of Lord of the RingsThe Princess Bride, and The Chronicles of Narnia. This fantastical journey is one our family's favorites. Excellent as an audio book, as well (and it's kind of long, so if that intimidates you, opt for audio!) Don't miss my interview with Andrew Peterson for Author Access in RAR Premium.

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Janner Igiby, his brother, Tink, and their disabled sister, Leeli, are gifted children as all children are, loved well by a noble mother and ex-pirate grandfather. But they will need all their gifts and all that they love to survive the evil pursuit of the venomous Fangs of Dang, who have crossed the dark sea to rule the land with malice.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Honey for a Child’s Heart

Honey for a Child’s Heart

FROM THE PUBLISHER

Since its publication in 1969, this has been an essential guide for parents wanting to find the best books for their children. This family favorite is now revised and updated, including an annotated list of books for ages 0-12.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
Miss Rumphius

Miss Rumphius

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

Easily among my all-time favorites. The story of little Alice, whose grandfather invites her to travel the globe, come home to the salty sea, and do something to make the world more beautiful. Listen to my special edition podcast episode about the author.

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon
The Fairy Books of Andrew Lang

The Fairy Books of Andrew Lang

$12.95

These come up again and again among readers and experts as a favorite fairy tale collection.

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Phantom Tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth

**Description from Amazon: With almost 4 million copies sold over 50 years after its original publication, generations of readers have now journeyed with Milo to the Lands Beyond in this beloved classic that Philip Pullman says “comes up bright and new every time I read it . . . it will continue to charm and delight for a v...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home (Fourth Edition)

The Well-Trained Mind: A Guide to Classical Education at Home (Fourth Edition)

$39.95

**Description from Amazon: Is your child getting lost in the system, becoming bored, losing his or her natural eagerness to learn? If so, it may be time to take charge of your child’s education―by doing it yourself.The Well-Trained Mind will instruct you, step by step, on how to give your child an academically rigorous, c...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Swallows and Amazons

Swallows and Amazons

FROM THE PUBLISHER:

A classic summer adventure for a group of siblings, a boat, and wild imagination. This is the first in a series, so if your kids enjoy this one, there are many more!

More info →
Buy from Bookshop
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Deconstructing Penguins: Parents, Kids, and the Bond of Reading

Deconstructing Penguins: Parents, Kids, and the Bond of Reading

**Description from Amazon: “Books are like puzzles,” write Lawrence and Nancy Goldstone. “The author’s ideas are hidden, and it is up to all of us to figure them out.” In this indispensable reading companion, the Goldstones–noted parent-child book club experts–encourage grownups and young readers alike to adopt ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
The Little White Horse

The Little White Horse

**Description from Amazon: "I absolutely adored The Little White Horse."--J.K. Rowling, creator of the Harry Potter seriesWinner of the Carnegie MedalWhen orphaned young Maria Merryweather arrives at Moonacre Manor, she feels as if she's entered Paradise. Her new guardian, her uncle Sir Benjamin, is kind and funny; the Manor ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Many Moons

Many Moons

$7.00

**Description from Amazon: A wise tale of a little princess who wanted the moon and got it. “Grown-ups themselves will find the book hilariously funny. . . . The lovely, squiggly illustrations in color are exactly right.”--The New Yorker

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Amos & Boris

Amos & Boris

$7.45

**Description from Amazon: Amos the mouse and Boris the whale: a devoted pair of friends with nothing at all in common, except good hearts and a willingness to help their fellow mammal. They meet after Amos sets out to sail the sea and finds himself in extreme need of rescue. And there will come a day, long after Boris has go...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The 13 Clocks: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

The 13 Clocks: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

**Description from Amazon: A giant of American humor makes his Penguin Classics debut with “probably the best book in the world” (Neil Gaiman, from the Introduction), in a stunning Deluxe Edition featuring the original, full-color illustrations  The hands of all thirteen clocks stand still in the gloomy castle on a loner...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Doctor De Soto

Doctor De Soto

$7.99

A trickster tale with a twist! How does a kindhearted dentist who also happens to be a mouse make sure that a fox with a toothache doesn't let his tastebuds get the better of him?

More info →
Buy from Amazon
The Wonderful O: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

The Wonderful O: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

$17.00

**Description from Amazon: Great American humorist James Thurber’s beloved, madcap, and eerily timely fairy tale about an island society robbed of the wonders of the letter O—in a stunning Deluxe Edition featuring flaps, deckle-edged paper, and the original, full-color illustrations   Littleneck has a map that indicates ...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Watership Down: A Novel (Puffin Books Book 1)

Watership Down: A Novel (Puffin Books Book 1)

**Description from Amazon: A phenomenal worldwide bestseller for over thirty years, Richard Adams's Watershed Down is a timeless classic and one of the most beloved novels of all time. Set in England's Downs, a once idyllic rural landscape, this stirring tale of adventure, courage and survival follows a band of very special c...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle
Abel’s Island (Newbery Award & Honor Books (Paperback))

Abel’s Island (Newbery Award & Honor Books (Paperback))

$6.99

**Description from Amazon: Abel's place in his familiar, mouse world has always been secure; he had an allowance from his mother, a comfortable home, and a lovely wife, Amanda. But one stormy August day, furious flood water carry him off and dump him on an uninhabited island. Despite his determination and stubborn resourceful...

More info →
Buy from Amazon
Dominic: A Picture Book

Dominic: A Picture Book

**Description from Amazon: Dear Friends,I am leaving in rather a hurry to see more of the world, so I have no time to say goodbye to you individually. I embrace you all and sniff you with love. I don't know when I'll be back. But back I will be.DominicIt's time for a change, so Dominic packs his collection of hats and his pic...

More info →
Buy from Amazon Kindle

Links from this episode:

 Books Heidi relies on for her Book Detectives group: